SCOTT COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM MINUTES MONDAY, JANUARY 22, 2024 NOON

The agenda for this meeting was posted in public in all Scott County Library System Libraries in accordance with Iowa law. President Kristal Koberg Schaefer called to order the January 22, 2024, meeting of the Scott County Library Board of Trustees at noon at the Eldridge branch.

Board of Trustees present: Chuck Brockmann, Linda Tuftee, Kevin Cahill, Dan True, Kristal Koberg Schaefer, Marty O'Boyle, Angie Ehlers (zoom), and Director Tricia Kane.

Approval of Agenda: The agenda was reviewed and approved by Linda Tuftee; seconded by Kevin Cahill. Motion carried.

Approval of the Minutes: Kevin Cahill moved to approve the minutes; seconded by Linda Tuftee. Motion carried.

Approval of Bills and Receipts: The Accounts Payable Report for the meeting of Scott County Board of Supervisors for 12/2/23 - 1/11/24 were reviewed and discussed. Chuck Brockmann moved to approve the bills and receipts; seconded by Marty O'Boyle. Motion carried.

Review of the Circulation and Budget:

Correspondence: A letter from a Walcott patron was shared. It was very complimentary and showed much appreciation toward the library system.

Board of Education: Tricia introduced our annual report to our new board member, as well as explained the services we provide, library background, and the five roles of board members. She also explained that we have met the conditions and have received the highest accreditation from the state of Iowa. Tricia also presented the by-laws, and the code of library districts.

Director's Report:

- Winter reading challenge is going on Jan. 27 Mar. 2 at all branches.
- RiverShare has formed a committee to explore a new integrated library system (ILS) and is seeking a consultant to assist with the project. This is just an exploratory search to see if something else is available that can meet the needs of the consortium.
- Scott County Library employees are doing great things! Christine Barth was selected to present at the Iowa Libraries Online Conference and will explain her work on the community memory project. Emily Haage has been selected to be the next chair of the Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Award committee. And, Katie Jackson has been one of 50 national applicants selected to receive a scholarship to the Public Library Association conference in April.

New Business: Some minor edits in Appendix A were reviewed.

• Circulation Policy – Linda Tuftee moved to approve that kits be allowed to be picked up at any RiverShare location; seconded by Chuck Brockmann. Motion carried.

- ILL Policy Marty O'Boyle moved to remove the charge for an ILL that is not picked up, and add a \$1 charge for replacing an insert; seconded by Kevin Cahill. Motion carried.
- Early closing on July 3, 2024 Chuck Brockmann moved to approve the closing of all locations at 4:30 p.m. on July 3, 2024 and to make this an annual closing when July 3 falls on a Monday Friday; seconded by Linda Tuftee. Motion carried.
- Meeting Schedule We are required to meet 10 times/year. Linda Tuftee moved to not hold a February 2024 meeting; seconded by Kevin Cahill. Motion carried.

The next meeting will be March 25, 2024, at noon, in person at the Scott County Library Eldridge branch.

Linda Tuftee moved to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Marty O'Boyle.

Respectfully Submitted, Angie Ehlers