SCOTT COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM MINUTES MONDAY, JUNE 24, 2019 NOON Eldridge Library Branch

The agenda for this meeting was posted in public in all Scott County Library System Libraries in accordance with Iowa law.

VP Brent Herman called the June 24, 2019, meeting of the Scott County Library Board of Trustees to order at the Eldridge Branch of the Scott County Library System at noon.

Board of Trustees present: Brent Herman, Fred Meyer, Linda Tuftee, Niki Wuestenberg, Shelli Engelbrecht, Angie Ehlers and Director Tricia Kane.

Approval of the Agenda: The agenda was reviewed and approved by Niki Wuestenberg, seconded by Shelli Engelbrecht. Motion carried.

Approval of the Minutes: Niki Wuestenberg moved to approve the minutes of the May 2019 meeting; seconded by Shelli Engelbrecht. Motion carried.

Approval of Bills and Receipts: The Accounts Payable Report for the meeting of the Scott County Board of Supervisors for May 2019 were reviewed and discussed. Fred Meyer moved to approve the bills and receipts; seconded by Linda Tuftee. Motion carried.

Review of the Budget Reports: The Budget Performance Report was reviewed and discussed.

Review of the Circulation Report: The May 2019 Circulation Report was reviewed and discussed. We saw a slight increase in circulation from May 2018 to May 2019. Programming attendance continues to be very strong. We show that we did loan out more materials than what are borrowed, which is a good measure of our collection development strategies.

Director's Report-

Summer reading program is in full swing.

Joe Ragona was recognized at a Scott County Supervisor meeting for his years of service on the library board. Tricia will follow up with Joe about which book he would like to add to the library's collection.

Old Business -

Shelli Engelbrecht and Kristal Koberg Schaefer attended a Dixon city council meeting, which went well.

New Business -

At our last meeting, the following nominations were made for officers: Kristal Koberg Schaefer – President; Brent Herman – Vice President; Angie Ehlers – Secretary. Linda Tuftee moved to elect these nominees; seconded by Shelli Engelbrecht. Motion carried.

Vacation Accrual Policy – Scott County has updated their vacation policy for non-represented employees to include an accrual benefit of 200 hours of vacation with over 20 years of service. Angie Ehlers moved to update the library's policy to match that of Scott County's; seconded by Niki Wuestenberg. Motion carried.

Compensation Policy – Scott County has also updated Policy D Classification and Compensation. Compensation for the non-represented employees. The policy provides a 2.5% increase on a non-represented employee's position anniversary date provided they are meeting or exceeding expectations on their annual evaluation. Shelli Engelbrecht moved to adopt the library's compensation policy; seconded by Linda Tuftee. Motion carried.

Fred Meyer announced his resignation from the library board due to him moving to Alabama.

Our next meeting will be Monday, July 22, 2019.

Shelli Engelbrecht moved to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Niki Wuestenberg.

Respectfully Submitted, Angie Ehlers