February 9, 2015 Minutes of the Scott County Conference Board

The Scott County Conference Board met this 9th day of February, 2015 in Board Room #638 of the Scott County Administrative Center, 600 W. 4th St, Davenport, Iowa. The meeting was called for the purpose of approving, for publication, the proposed budget of the County Assessor for the 2015/2016 fiscal year and setting the day, time, and location for the public hearing on said budget and acting on other business as necessary. The meeting was called to order by Presiding Chair, Thomas Sunderbruch of the Scott County Board of Supervisor's at 4:00 p.m., with the following members present:

Schools: Jeannine Crockett - Bettendorf

Ralph Johanson - Davenport Rich Clewell - Davenport

Heather Witters – Pleasant Valley

Mayors: Robert Gallagher - Bettendorf

Martin O'Boyle – Eldridge

Michael Limberg – Long Grove

Supervisors: Thomas Sunderbruch - Chair

Jim Hancock – Vice Chair Diane Holst - Supervisor Brinson Kinzer - Supervisor

Others Present: Dale R. Denklau - Assessor

Lew R. Zabel - Chief Deputy Dan Lett – Deputy Assessor Ed Vieth – Deputy Assessor

- Prior to the continuation of the meeting, Zabel introduced Dan Lett, Deputy Assessor, who was hired to fill the position created by the retirement of Ron Beckenbaugh.
- Next was a motion to approve March 3, 2014 minutes. Motion by Hancock,
 2nd by Crocket, with all voting yes.

 A legal quorum was established and voting delegates were chosen by each voting unit as follows:

Schools: Crockett
Mayors: O'Boyle
Supervisors: Holst

- The Chair asked if there were any public wishing to address the Board.
 Seeing no public present, the Chair moved to the next item on the agenda.
- Next on the agenda was the report of the Board of Review presented by Zabel. He reported that there were 50 appeals to the Board, of which 19 were reduced upon review of the information that was supplied. The action resulted in a reduction in assessed value in the Residential Class of \$598,560.00 and in the Commercial class of \$565,202.00.
- Next on the agenda was the report of Dale Denklau the County Assessor. He reported that the statistics effecting equalization were in pretty good shape with a commercial median of 98% and residential median of 96%. He also informed the Board of the upcoming changes to the Agricultural class due to CSR2 and the change in valuing of Crop and Non-Crop land. He reported that the budget being presented contains a 2.50% salary increase for the staff adjusted to reflect an additional work day due to leap year and the impending payout for the Chief Deputy's retirement in 2016. Supervisor Hancock asked for a comparison of doing a reappraisal in house versus hiring an appraisal firm. Staff explained the pluses and minuses of each philosophy.
- Next on the agenda was the reappointment of Dale Denklau as the Scott County Assessor beginning 1/1/2016. A motion by O'Boyle second by Holst "To postpone the reappointment for six months." After discussion a vote was taken.

Schools: Yes Mayors: Yes Supervisors: Yes • The Board next reviewed a report supplied by Zabel on the position of Examining Board member as described in the Code of Iowa. Based on that report it was determined that the three members of the Board's terms are for six years running concurrently. The qualifications required a willingness to serve, residency in the assessment jurisdictions, gender balance on the Board per Iowa Code, and cannot be a member of the Conference Board. It was determined that each voting unit of the Conference Board appoints one member of the Examining Board and their current status is as follows:

Supervisor's appointment – Lisa Charnitz
School's appointment – Vacant
Mayor's appointment – Vacant

- Next was the presentation of the FY 2015-2016 Budget for the Scott County Assessor's Office. After discussion and no change recommended, the Board set March 2, 2015 in Room 638 of the Scott County Administrative Office Building at 3:30 p.m. as the time and place of the public hearing.
- There being no additional business at this time, the Board adjourned at 4:55 p.m. on a motion by Hancock second by Crockett. All voting yes.

Respectfully Submitted,	
Dale Denklau, Clerk	Thomas Sunderbruch, Chair