February 10, 2011 Minutes of Scott County Conference Board

The Scott County Conference Board met this 10th day of February, 2011 in room 638, on the 6th floor of the Scott County Administrative Center, 600 W. 4th St., Davenport, Iowa. The meeting was called for the purpose of approving for publication of the Proposed Combined Budget of the County Assessor for the 2011-2012 Fiscal Year, and setting the day, time and location for the Public Hearing on said budget, and acting on other business as necessary. The meeting was called to order by Tom Sunderbruch, Chair of the Scott County Board of Supervisors at 4:30 p.m. with the following members present:

Schools:	Patt Zamora-Davenport Jeannine Crockett-Bettendorf Paul Dierickx-North Scott Dick Stoltenberg-Durant
Mayors:	Jim Couper-Walcott Michael J. Freemire-Bettendorf Martin P. O'Boyle-Eldridge Ida Weibel-Long Grove
Supervisors:	Tom Sunderbruch-Chair William P. Cusack Carol T. Earnhardt
Others:	Dale Denklau-County Assessor Lew Zabel-Chief Deputy Assessor Ron Beckenbaugh-Deputy Assessor Ed Vieth-Deputy Assessor Todd McGreevy-River Cities' Reader Tom Nelson Beth Haney Susan Frazer Roger Mall

• A legal quorum was established by all voting units and voting delegates were chosen by each voting unit as follows:

Schools:	Crockett
Mayors:	Couper
Supervisors:	Cusack

- The minutes of the March 2, 2009 meeting were presented for approval. Jeannine Crockett, Bettendorf School District Delegate pointed out the omission of the North Scott School's Delegate Tim Lane from the roll call of members present. Motion to approve the minutes as amended by Cusack second by Crockett. Vote: Schools – Yes Mayors – Yes Supervisors - Yes
- The report of the Board of Review was presented by Lew Zabel on behalf of the Board. There were 177 protests with 67 of them upheld and 110 denied. Also, there were 21 assessments that the Board acted upon its own initiative. The total decrease in value was \$2,269,160. The actions of the Board, on their own initiative prompted a question by Todd McGreevy of the River Cities' Reader, as to why the Board acted on their own. The Assessor and Chief Deputy explained that these actions were taken to correct errors that were found while the Board was in session or to maintain equity.
- Next was the report of the County Assessor, Dale Denklau. The assessor reported his office is switching to the new 2008 Iowa Appraisal Manual for the 2011 Assessment which means that all improved parcels, 35,000 more or less, will be receiving new assessments. The Rural Residential reappraisal will be completed shortly. Current sales indicate Commercial and Industrials are at 97.6%. Residential assessments are at 95.8% overall. Agricultural assessments will increase by about 15%. But because of the agricultural rollback, taxable values on agricultural property will likely go down. The rollback is expected to increase residential taxable values. Commercial and industrial values are being looked at by the governor and state legislators.
- Next there was a discussion on the budget which includes 2.50% salary increase and no change in medical costs. The budget shows a 12.12% overall increase. The levy rate is down .0035. Board members and Mr. McGreevy questioned the change in the Commercial Services Line Item. The Assessor explained that budgeting a project over several years is typical for larger projects which keep the levy from having large swings from year to year.
- The Notice of Public Hearing and Proposed Budget Summary were approved for publication as presented by Cusack and second by Couper. Roll call votes all ayes.
- Board of Review member Dennis Stolk is up for a new six year appointment. The Board discussed the number of members, currently three, on the Board of Review. On a motion by Freemire and second by Earnhardt all units voted yes to appoint Dennis Stolk to a six year term.

• The next meeting was set for Thursday, March 10th, 2011 at 4:30 p.m. in room 638 of the Scott County Administrative Center.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:58 p.m. on a motion by Couper and second by Cusack. All units voted yes.

Tom Sunderbruch, Chair Scott County Conference Board

Dale R. Denklau, Clerk

Affidavit of Publication